Categories
Reviews

Best Pool Basketball Hoops for Poolside Fun

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Learn how we make money.

It’s summertime and nothing beats spending all day in the pool, right? All you want to do is relax on your floatie and drink lemon with mint, but the kids probably won’t let you. Get them a pool basketball hoop to keep them busy.

Pool basketball hoops are an inexpensive way to enjoy pool time with your kids or friends. You can play in teams or one-on-one. You can even take the portable basketball hoop anywhere you go.

I’m going to review the top 11 portable basketball hoops for you and help you choose the one that suits your needs.

Reviews of The Best Pool Basketball Hoops

The great news is that there’s a pool basketball hoop for every budget, so I’ve divided them into different price categories, so you can just skip to the ones you’re most interested in.

Best Portable Basketball Hoops Below $100

If you don’t want to spend more than $100, check the pool basketball hoops on this list.

Poolmaster Pro Rebounder Poolside Basketball Game

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The Poolmaster Pro works well with both in-ground and above ground pools. You can fill the game base with water or sand to keep it stable. The net and board are durable and can handle all weather conditions.

Things We Like
  • Durability
  • Comes in two colors, blue or grey
Things We Don’t Like
  • The rim could get bent if hit hard too many times

SwimWays 2 in 1 Game

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

You can play pool basketball or volleyball with SwimWays 2 in 1. It’s very easy to switch from one game to the other. You can set it up in less than 10 mins and start your poolside basketball game right away.

Things We Like
  • Easy installation
  • Switches from basketball to volleyball in no time
Things We Don’t Like
  • Can’t handle rough playing
  • The user manual isn’t very helpful

Best Pool Basketball Hoops Below $200

Here are a few good options if you can spare a few extra bucks.

Poolmaster Splashback Poolside Basketball Game

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The Poolmaster comes with a 14-inch PVC hoop and polyethylene net. Its backboard measures 34 inches wide x 25.5 inches high. You’ll get a game ball along with its inflation needle in the Poolmaster set.

Things We Like
  • Good value for money
Things We Don’t Like
  • Its height can’t be adjusted
  • The rim breaks easily

SwimWays Wet Net Basketball Game

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The SwimWays Basketball Game is very easy to set up, you and your kids can start playing as soon as it’s delivered. The hoop is rust-proof and stands at 2-feet above the ground.

It has a 28-inch backboard made from polycarbonate to withstand all weather conditions.

Things We Like
  • It has a very cool design
Things We Don’t Like
  • Its height can’t be adjusted

Best Pool Basketball Hoops Below $300

Here are a couple of pool basketball hoops below $300.

Dunnrite Products Pool Sport 2-in-1 Swimming Basketball Hoop and Volleyball Combo Set

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

This 2-in-1 Dunnrite game promises you poolside fun, whether you’re a volleyball or a basketball fan. You can convert from one game to another without using any tools.

Although the height isn’t adjustable, the basketball rim is at 36 inches above the base. It’s mainly made of stainless steel.

Things We Like
  • 2-in-1 game
  • It comes with a 3-year warranty
Things We Don’t Like
  • It only comes in white
  • The basketball hoop has to be removed when switching to volleyball

Lifetime Pool Side Basketball System

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

With the Lifetime Pool Basketball Hoop, you can choose from three designs. It has a two-piece pole that’s coated with a weather-resistant finish. Its height can be adjusted from 4 to 6.5 feet.

It has a shatterproof backboard lined with a polyethylene frame.

Things We Like
  • It’s suitable for kids, teenagers, and adults since its height can reach up to 6.5 feet
Things We Don’t Like
  • It doesn’t come with a ball

Swimline Cool Jam Pro Poolside Basketball Super-Wide

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

You can choose to order the Cool Jam Pro with one basketball or two at an extra price. It’s got an oversized backboard of 44 inches. This saves you the countless times you would’ve had to get out of the pool to retrieve the ball.

Things We Like
  • It’s durable
  • It has an oversized board
Things We Don’t Like
  • The rim can start rusting with time and eventually break off

Best Pool Basketball Hoops Below $500

If your main concern is quality and durability and you don’t mind the price, check out this list.

POOL SHOT Pool Basketball Hoop with Powder Coated Hoop, Stainless Steel Hardware and 2 Basketballs

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The POOL SHOT comes with two basketballs at no extra charges. Its powder-coated hoop is rust-proof. The rest of its parts are made from stainless steel, except for the net of course.

In order to prevent the ball from bouncing off into your backyard, the board has 30-degree angled side deflection wings. This pool basketball hoop is covered against defects for one year by the manufacturer.

Things We Like
  • Two basketballs are included in the set
  • It has a rust-proof hoop
Things We Don’t Like
  • It’s light which makes it easy to lean and fall into the pool

Dunnrite Products Splash and Shoot (Clear)

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

The Dunnrite Splash and Shoot has a telescopic pole that can be adjusted to 56 inches above your pool. The base can hold up to 25 gallons of water to keep the hoop nice and steady.

The hoop is vinyl coated stainless steel, made to withstand the heat and the cold.

Things We Like
  • The pole is aluminum powder-coated, which makes it heavy duty
  • It has an attractive design
Things We Don’t Like
  • It doesn’t have built-in wheels, so it would be difficult to move around

Pool Pleasure Hoop

Last update on 2020-06-01 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API

This Pool Pleasure Hoop boasts durability and quality. It has a weather-resistant backboard and stainless steel rim. Its pole can be adjusted up to 49 inches.

It’s suitable for inground pools. For above the ground pools, you’d need to have a deck around the pool.

Things We Like
  • Durable and adjustable pole
Things We Don’t Like
  • It’s not suitable for all above the ground pools

Pool Basketball Hoops Buyer’s Guide

Here are a few tips to consider before buying your new pool basketball hoop.

Rust

If you’re getting a pool basketball hoop made mainly from stainless steel, then you’ll have to watch out for rust. When the parts rust they break and fall off.

To avoid this problem, spray all the parts with anti-rust spray before assembly. Schedule occasional sprays to make sure rust doesn’t creep up on your hoop when you’re not looking.

Mind Your Hoop

No matter how strong and durable your hoop is, this game is made for poolside fun, not professional basketball. That’s why you need to resist the temptation to hold on to the rim when doing a slam dunk.

To keep your hoop safe from bending or breaking off, there are a few things you need to do. Tell your kids and friends not to hold on the hoop or pull on it. Always monitor your hoop for any rust and follow the instructions mentioned in the Rust section.

Also, if you get a 2-in-1 set, you have to be extra careful when removing and re-installing the hoop as it might break in the process.

Water or Sand?

When choosing between water and sand to fill the base of your pool basketball hoop, you should take a few things into consideration.

The more stable option is sand of course, but it’s quite a hassle to empty the base of the sand. Before using sand, you need to make sure that you want it in there for a long time.

It’s better to use water if you have a 2-in-1 game and will be switching between games often. A sandy base isn’t the easiest thing in the world to be moving around.

Also, make sure you don’t overfill the base with either sand or water so the hoop doesn’t tip over every time it’s hit with a ball. We all know that’ll happen a lot.

To Wrap Up

I hope you found this article useful. My personal favorite is definitely the POOL SHOT. It comes with two basketballs, who wouldn’t love that? It has deflection wings on its board to keep the ball in the pool. You get a durable product with a one-year warranty.

If the POOL SHOT is over budget for you, go for the 2-in-1 Dunnrite game. You get more games for the same price and a 3-year warranty.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *